Posted by: Jennifer Sage | October 22, 2008

The Official Tour de France route for 2009

Below is the 2009 Tour de France route presentation.

 

I was up at 2:30 this morning to prepare for the presentation and make my calls to reserve hotels for my groups. I had most of my reservations already made, or on “option”, but until the official route is announced, you never know for sure.

As it turned out, the “leaked” guestimated route was very, very close, with only a few changes. There’s a foray into Switzerland and Italy, a time trial in Annecy, a start and finish in Barcelona and in Andorra, and the ultimate challenge, a climb up Mont Ventoux on the penultimate day before Paris. I am excited to have the Team Time Trial back.

Stay tuned for my announcements of Viva Travels’ tours. We’re probably going to do a Pyrénées and an Alpe-Ventoux trip. I’ve got some great hotel options in both places and am waiting on some confirmations before I make it official.  With the layout of this year’s Tour, one cannot avoid an occasional shuttle, but you can be sure, we’ll have fewer shuttles than most tour companies! Our goal is to RIDE!

I have also reserved some great inns and bed and breakfasts for those who want to see the Tour de France on a self-guided basis. 

Contact me for more information!

Responses

  1. Wow, JennAFair, that flythrough animation is really cool…I wish it were even in more detail so we could use in for our classes…

    SpinningInPrescott.com

    Patrick! 🙂 PS


Leave a Reply

Categories

