Posted by: Jennifer Sage | March 22, 2009

My first outdoor ride this season in the mountains

Today I rode outside for the first time this year up here in the mountains. A month ago we were in Las Vegas and rented bikes for a fabulous ride to Red Rocks, so I can’t count this as my first ride of the season. But I can count it as the first outdoor ride of my training program for the Giretto! And right on track, too.

My husband is building us a new house in Eagle Ranch, Colorado (he’s a builder by trade. Hmmm, building and travel, our two primary income sources….I think both have been a little hammered by this recession!)  Eagle is about 20 miles west of Edwards, where we live now, and 30 miles west of Vail. I haven’t seen the house in a month since the drywall has been started, so I rode to Eagle today to check out the house and to get my ride in. It was a fantastic ride, mostly flat, and the weather was in the mid-50’s, low 60’s, so pretty mild for this time of year. (Got a winter storm warning for tomorrow, so timing was perfect)

The ride was 45 miles total. Slight downhill on the way out, but a good headwind. Coming back I felt great, and added another 6 miles to the ride once I got home (it’s 19.3 miles door to door to our new place). Heart rate was on average 10-15 beats below my threshold (High Zone 2, low Zone 3) – a good aerobic workout. I was only at or above LT for the short gradual climbs on the way back. Total time (including a few short stops, but not including the stop at the house) was 2 hours, 51 min.

My legs feel a little tired and back a little achy, but overall I’m amazed at how good I feel! I’m very pleased with today’s ride, and how strong I felt. 

This is how much of the road looks like west of Edwards along the Eagle river on Highway 6.

ride-to-eagle2

Me and Rosie at the front of the house. Jeff was there working with the drywall sub-contractors all day (poor guy, he was jealous of my ride).

riding-to-our-house-in-eagle

And if I can brag for a moment, this is what my amazing husband’s creation looks like!

eagle-ranch-mar-20-09

The rest of the week will be indoors on my Spin bike. Next weekend I’ll be in Jamaica for a Spinning training, so it may be 2 weeks before I can get back on my bike. But I’ll be sure to get a lot of hours on the Spin bike in between sitting on the beach in Jamaica. I’m going to help with a Spinning marathon fundraiser they’re doing at the club where I’m doing the certification. Should be a lot of fun!

Responses

  1. Fantastic! Great to hear you’re right on track!

  2. Thanks Gene,
    it felt great to feel great! Usually first ride I’m suffering a lot more, but I would have gone further. That’s a good sign! And also, I’m not so sore today, although I did ski hard in the afternoon, and fatigued my legs, I still had energy and power left for the bumps.
    Subbing a spin class tomorrow at 6 am!
    j

  3. […] rode to Eagle to our new house where my husband was installing the door trim. Ah man, do I feel guilty that he is working so hard […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

