Posted by: Jennifer Sage | June 23, 2011

Last Minute Fantastic Opportunity to See the 4 Alpine Stages of This Year’s Tour de France

I have a great opportunity for you to see the four amazing Alpine stages of this year’s Tour de France, including Alpe d’Huez, Galibier and the Time Trial in Grenoble at a VERY reasonable cost. Normally, the best hotel rooms within an hour or two drive to the most exciting parts of the stages have been reserved for 6-8 months, most of them by tour companies like me!

As a small tour operator, I usually send quite a few self-guided tours to the Tour de France. I give my clients everything they need to know to do it on their own in total confidence. Everything! It’s my specialty and I believe my clients are better prepared than most who show up to see the Tour. That is why I was so excited when the TDF route was announced last October I was able to reserve hotel rooms in Les Deux Alpes, a fabulous Alpine village with easy cycling access (well, maybe “easy” isn’t the right word! More like convenient!) to stages 18 (Galibier) and 19 (Alpe d’Huez) and also within a short drive of stages 17 (to access Izoard and/or Montgenevre & Sestriere) and stage 20 (TT in Grenoble). For this year’s Tour, no location is better! We Tour Operators battle it out amongst hundreds around the world for a relatively small number of really good rooms, so I was very fortunate.

Had I been able to properly market the self-guided tours, they would have sold out for sure. In fact, I was planning to go myself…… but 2011 had different plans for me and my family. It was a very challenging start to the year, and my attention has been taken completely in another direction since February. As a result, I was unable to put the time into promoting the tours except for a couple of clients.

And now I’m stuck with ten fantastic hotel rooms in the best location for one of the most exciting series of stages in the Alpes at the Tour de France! I am prepared to give them away at my cost – or if you want, I’ll provide you the Tour de France Vélo Concierge package at a great discount. (More on that in a moment).

I’m not kidding when I say Les Deux Alpes is the best village in the area. The village of Alpe d’Huez is actually kind of ugly (with mostly 70’s style concrete hotels) but L2A is really charming, with an alpine feel, a vibrant village center, great restaurants and easy access to everything in the area. It has lots of activities for non-Tour fans as well, so if you want to bring your family, they won’t lack for other outdoor fun things to do while you go suffer on the climbs on your bike!

Here’s the scoop on these rooms:

The Hotel Souleil Or, Les Deux Alpes
July 19-23 (4 nights)
An excellent 3-star hotel with a beautiful pool at the foot of the ski mountain
145€/night including breakfast in a double room
Your total would be 580€

I’ve already paid the deposit and a few fees. You would simply pay me what I’ve got into the rooms, and then pay the hotel the balance on checkout. (I’ll send you a confirmation that the rooms have been transferred to your name)

Usually my self-guided bicycle tour packages are $800/pp for up to 8 days of info and routes plus hotels. So these rooms plus the self-guided service would normally be anywhere from $2,600 – $3,800 (USD) for two people. You can see what a great opportunity this is!

Contact me at jennifer@vivatravels.com for more information.

This is the view descending the Galibier!

Leave a Reply

Categories

